Writing for the Web

Published June 10, 2008 by Dr. Tammy Powley

In my blog classes, I usually touch on the difference between writing for the web versus writing for hard copy publications. I say “touch” because I’m sure I could easily teach an entire class on web writing, and the main focus of my blog classes at this point tend to be more nuts and bolts.

Today, someone showed me this article from usability guru Jakob Nielsen, so it is something I think I will start pointing my classes to for those who are interested in finding out more concerning blog-related writing. I don’t necessarily agree with 100% of what he says, but most of it I think has some truth to it, and he is considered an expert in the topic so his theories are worth knowing about: Writing Style for Print vs Web.

2 comments on “Writing for the Web

  • Interesting info regarding the writing style for web versus print…some helpful info. Nice to have this blog for assistance after the class. Thanks.

  • Thanks, Christin. I’m glad people are finding it helpful. It seems a little hodge-pogey to me, but I don’t spend a lot of time on it, just post stuff when I come across it.

  • Leave a Reply

